Our History

The Grand Lodge started the Royal Masonic Benevolent Annuity Fund for men in 1842 and for females in 1849.

In 1850, the first Home was opened in East Croydon, named the "Asylum for Worthy, Aged and Decayed Freemasons", and the Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution (RMBI) was established.

The Home remained in Croydon for over 100 years until 1955 when it was transferred to Harewood Court in Hove after identifying the need for bigger premises.

Homes and their Opening Dates:

1955   Harewood Court, Hove, East Sussex

1966   Devonshire Court, Oadby, Leicestershire

1967   Scarbrough Court, Cramlington, Northumberland

1968   Prince George Duke of Kent Court, Chislehurst, Kent

1971   Connaught Court, Fulford, York

1973   Lord Harris Court, Sindlesham, Berkshire

1973   Albert Edward Prince of Wales Court, Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan

1977   Ecclesholme, Eccles, Manchester

1977   The Tithebarn, Great Crosby, Liverpool

1979   Queen Elizabeth Court, Llandudno, Conwy

1980   James Terry Court, Croydon, Surrey

1981   Cornwallis Court, Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

1983   Zetland Court, Bournemouth, Dorset

1986   Cadogan Court, Exeter, South Devon

1994   Prince Michael of Kent Court, Watford, Hertfordshire

1995   Shannon Court, Hindhead, Surrey

1996   Barford Court, Hove, East Sussex

1998   Prince Edward Duke of Kent Court, Braintree, Essex

2008   Scarbrough Court, Cramlington, Northumberland (re-built on the original site)

In 2016 the four Masonic charities consolidated into the Masonic Charitable Foundation, with the Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution becoming The Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution Care Company, or RMBI Care Co.